The men I never dated – it started with the blog

25Jan08

Ok, this guy was an Ibo man and we met because of blogging. He was new to my city and I guess he was googling something about Nigerian parties and my blog (not this one) popped up.

He left a comment, we moved to exchanging emails, talking on the phone and eventually we met.

Then he dropped the bomb: he had a girlfriend. I was so crushed because this guy was pretty damn perfect in my eyes: he was taller than I, he was quite North Americanized, he was smart (huge turn on to me). He was actually too smart and in retrospect I bet he thought I was the dumbest girl around. Our relationship never moved past friendship, although many times I prayed that he would get rid of his girlfriend and realize the treasure he hung out with occasionally.

He was a sweet guy and my first massage was a gift from him (um, no he didn’t do the massage o!). He was very gentlemanly and really it was no surprise that he had a girlfriend. His girlfriend didn’t live in the country though so I got to see him more often that I would have perhaps if she had lived near by.

There were times when I thought that maybe something was happening, but it was always in my head. He wasn’t much taller than I was but he made me feel protected and like “the woman” when went out. Oh and he had a really nice body. I have to admit he would never be called hot but to me he was perfect.

Things got awkward as they always do when I like someone but don’t tell him that I do. I get moody and distant, then I remind myself that the guy has no idea that I like him and go back to treating him like a good old buddy. While the guy is usually not at all aware of my changes in mood, this guy was and we exchanged a few emails that were just…awkward, like we both knew what was going on but no one wanted to spell it out. I think his girlfriend knew I liked him and I think she told him.

Anyways, the girlfriend came to town, moved here actually, but we had pretty much stopped corresponding by then. I heard that they broke up after a couple of years but it’s too late for he and I.

One Response to “The men I never dated – it started with the blog”

  1. Eyaa….. but, seems to me we meet ‘these’ people so, ’twill be much easier (for us0 when we meet the particular one.

    Interesting story line though.



